COMM 348 – News Practicum

The News Practicum course allows students the opportunity to find, record, and edit news stories.  The first story I created involved Judy McIntyre, the director of the common reading at Shepherd University.  After being given a short clip of an interview with her, I wrote a story and edited it together with her pre-recorded interview.  I also developed a story about the National Association of Veterinary Technicians and Vickey Bullett, an Olympic basketball player, from pre-recorded interviews.  At the end of the semester, I decided to interview the SGA President about being more involved in Shepherd University and his future plans to join the Peace Corps. after graduation.  After interviewing him, I wrote a story, recorded my own voice, and edited it together.  The podcasts recorded follow the written scripts provided.

For WSHC news, I’m Ashley Laspina.  Judy McIntyre works at Shepherd University as the director of the First Year Experience Program and the Common Reading Program.  The Common Reading Program democratically selects a book each year and encourages the campus and the community to become involved by reading the book and attending many other activities.  The book “This I Believe” was chosen for this year’s common reading.

“This particular book is a series of essays based on the NPR Program “This I Believe” and any one of the eighty some odd essays that are in here has a kernel, a core of something that can be discussed somewhere.  It brings you together over that idea.”

Mrs. McIntyre encourages all individuals to read “This I Believe” and to become involved in the Common Reading Program by attending activities are just starting a discussion.  This is Ashley Laspina for WSHC news.

Judy McIntyre Story

For WSHC news, I’m Ashley Laspina.  Sandy Sponougle is the owner of Platinum PR in Shepherdstown, West Virginia and the director of communications for the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America.  Each year veterinary technicians are recognized in the third week of October by this organization.  Veterinary technicians play a vital part in keeping pets healthy by assisting the veterinarian.

“They would be there to meet with the client, meet with the pet owner, do an initial history, initial assessment of what challenges or just as a preventative health checkup and again would be there to assist the veterinarian, whether it be drawing blood, assisting them in surgery, administering anesthesia, anything along those lines is what the technician would do”.

As the appreciation week for veterinary technicians approaches, remember the important job they have in keeping pets healthy and happy.  This is Ashley Laspina for WSHC news.

Sandy Sponougle Story

For WSHC news, I’m Ashley Laspina.

Vicky Bullett is a Martinsburg-native who formerly played professional woman’s basketball.  She was recently honored at Knoxville, Tennessee for her achievements on the basketball court.

“It was amazing, an emotional rollercoaster because I had my family there, I knew I had to give a speech which is one of my pet peeves.  I’m not very comfortable speaking in front of a public crowd but you get used to it and this was a moment that everybody understands what you’ve done for women’s basketball and they’re honoring you for it.  So, it was a proud moment.  I’m glad my family was able to be a part of it.  My coach from Maryland was able to be a part of it and it’s just a symbol of the recognition.  It wasn’t given to me, I had to work hard for it and I took the steps to do so.”

Although her basketball career may be over, Bullett continues to receive recognition for the hard work she did to pave the way for Women’s Professional Basketball.

This is Ashley Laspina for WSHC news.

Vickey Bullett Story

For WSHC news, I’m Ashley Laspina.  Michael Bailey is the SGA President at Shepherd University and is a senior who will be graduating this spring.  Although he has many responsibilities as SGA President, Michael is doing quite a lot to prepare for his life after graduation.  Once he graduates, his current plans are to join the Peace Corp.

“At this point I just sent in my medical evaluation and dental evaluation so I’m waiting to be medically and dentally cleared.  I’ve legally cleared and after that I will have another interview with a placement officer in which they will decide my country and my exact assignment and when exactly I’ll leave.”

Nothing is final yet, but once Michael is cleared to join the Peace Corp. and has graduated he will probably start his work with an agricultural assignment in Africa.  He is very excited and looking forward to making a difference in the world.  This is Ashley Laspina for WSHC news.

For WSHC news, I’m Ashley Laspina.  Michael Bailey is the Student Government Association President at Shepherd University and is a senior this year.  He understands the importance of being involved on campus and encourages all students to become more involved with the SGA.

“The easiest way would be to join an organization on campus that is recognized by Shepherd and then become your organization’s liaison between SGA and then you attend weekly meetings.  We have weekly meetings that are open to all students on Tuesdays at 4:45 in the Storer Ballroom.  The only thing is if you come you are able to sit in but you aren’t able to vote, you don’t have a voting seat.”

All students are able to become involved in the SGA, but the level of involvement is up to the individual.  The SGA works together with other organizations to help produce the best campus possible.  This is Ashley Laspina for WSHC news.

WSHC Stories

Leave a Reply

